…feel of much of later reality television…   15 comments

FSW_08

1980s–1990s

Reality television as it is currently understood can be directly linked to several television shows that began in the late 1980s and early 1990s. COPS, which first aired in the spring of 1989 and came about partly due to the need for new programming during the 1988 Writers Guild of America strike,[9] showed police officers on duty apprehending criminals; it introduced the camcorder look and cinéma vérité feel of much of later reality television. The series Nummer 28, which aired on Dutch television in 1991, originated the concept of putting strangers together in the same environment for an extended period of time and recording the drama that ensued. Nummer 28 also pioneered many of the stylistic conventions that have since become standard in reality television shows, including a heavy use of soundtrack music and the interspersing of events on screen with after-the-fact „confessionals” recorded by cast members, that serve as narration. One year later, the same concept was used by MTV in their new series The Real World and Nummer 28 creator Erik Latour has long claimed that The Real World was directly inspired by his show.[10] However, the producers of The Real World have stated that their direct inspiration was An American Family.[11]

According to television commentator Charlie Brooker, this type of reality television was enabled by the advent of computer-based non-linear editing systems for video (such as those produced by Avid Technology) in 1989. These systems made it easy to quickly edit hours of video footage into a usable form, something that had been very difficult to do before. (Film, which was easy to edit, was too expensive to shoot enough hours of footage with on a regular basis.)[12]

The Swedish TV show Expedition Robinson, created by TV producer Charlie Parsons, which first aired in 1997 (and was later produced in a large number of other countries as Survivor), added to the Nummer 28/Real World template the idea of competition and elimination, in which cast members/contestants battled against each other and were removed from the show until only one winner remained. (These shows are now sometimes called elimination shows.)

Changing Rooms, a British TV show that began in 1996, showed couples redecorating each others’ houses, and was the first reality show[citation needed] with a self-improvement or makeover theme…

15 responses to “…feel of much of later reality television…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Welcome,
    This is just what I was searching for in Bing!
    Your article could not be any more cleary writen.
    I am sharing this right now and I can’t wait for your next post!
    If you want see my last post at sports betting champ.
    Thank you!

  2. I enjoy writing to you ranks. I will visit your blog with pleasure. Talk to …
    Have a nice day.
    adm

  3. Between me and my wife we’ve owned some of the best digital video cameras over the years including Sony, Kodak, Panasonic, Toshiba, Cannon, JVC, Samsung Vivitar, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one Maker of Cameras. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the New Sony Digital Video Cameras are. Today, the Best Digital Video Cameras and camcorders are Small & portable electronic devices for recording video images and audio onto an internal storage device, many with still frame digital photography features as well. All Best Digital Video Cameras are Developed with innovative features including high-zoom capabilities, user-friendly settings and easy to upload options to share your memories with all the family and friends. Digital cameras and video cameras take clear crisp photos and superior quality HD videos. If your planning on purchaseing a new Digital Video Camera do your research first so your not sorry in the end. Sorry for the long review, but I really love these new cameras, and hope this, as well as the excellent reviews some other people have written, will help you decide if it’s these digital cameras are the right choice for you.

  4. I’ve been checking your blog for a while now, seems like everyday I learn something new 🙂 Thanks

  5. An interesting discussion is value comment. I think that you need to write more on this subject, it won’t be a taboo topic however generally people are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  6. Thank you…
    adm

    Andrei D.MITUCA
  7. There a few interesting points soon enough in this post but I do not know if I see them all center to heart. There’s some validity but Let me take hold opinion until I consider it further. Excellent post , thanks and that we want much more! Added onto FeedBurner too

  8. Thanks for posting. Good to see that not everyone is using RSS feeds to build their blogs 😉

  9. I REALLY liked your post and blog! It took me a minute bit to find your site…but I bookmarked it. Would you mind if I posted a link back to your post?

  10. This post makes a lot of sense !

  11. I was just having a conversation over this I am glad I came across this it cleared some of the questions I had.

  12. Nice post! You truly have a wonderful way of writing which I find captivating! I will definitely be bookmarking you and returning to your blog. In fact, your post reminded me about a strange thing that happened to me the other day. I’ll tell you about that later…

  13. I’ve just started off a blog, the knowledge you give on this site has aided me extremely. Thank you for all your time & work.

  14. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact used
    to be a enjoyment account it. Look advanced to far brought agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we keep up a correspondence?

  15. Thank you..
    If you want, my adress mail is andrei.mituca@gmail.com

    Andrei D.MITUCA

Lasă un comentariu